One of my very favourite things is to go walking in woods. I’ve wandered in the Vienna Woods and the Charnwood Forest. There is something deliciously calming about finding the cool canopy of trees or the a tree’s fatherly protection in heavy rain, so you can be blissfully unaware of just how heavy the rain is in open ground.

I read a very interesting article recently about how trees have social networks and very human characteristics. An article in the New York Times described the work of a German Forest Ranger named Peter Wohlleben.   It is something I have considered for a while, especially after encountering the ‘Good Sir Tree’ who I felt I could dance with. One day while walking in the woods, I found a glen and there was a gracefully commanding, but gentle old tree. His generosity and humility required my respect, yet strangely I felt compelled to stand in his presence. You can read my blog post here.

Recently I wandered into the Charnwood Forest, Leicestershire and come across two trees intertwined in a sensual embrace. Then I found a young tree holding, literally, the place of a dead  former family member. Its hand gently clasping the remains of its former brother. It was  intriguing and a privilege to photograph  the intensity of these relationships and a reminder to tread respectfully within the company of my brothers and sisters, the trees.

 

Do trees have a language of thier own?

Charnwood Forest, Leicestershire

Can a tree moan and sigh, but in a language of its own?

Without word or letter or sounds,

Silently decaying over time alone.

Knowing that it’s need are second rate

With the poverty and deprivation of the nation’s state.

Quietly dancing with time and season.

Knowing human feeling lacks all reason.

Do trees have a language of thier own?

Charnwood Forest, Leicestershire

 

 

2 thoughts on “Do Trees Have a Language of their Own?

Leave a Reply

