I posted this poem earlier this year, but somehow recent events have sent me back to it. Yesterday I went for an eye test and began chatting to the assistant, who helped me with my new lens. Clearly she had a very different cultural heritage than me and I was curious. “Where have you come from?” I asked. Rema had Indian grandparents, but was born in Kenya. She came to England as a child.  I learned a lot more about her and found her to be very beautiful.

I am troubled by the state of the world we live and the hatred that has appeared, so this is how I choose to respond and to act in a way that firmly says  “No!’  

It would be lovely to know who you talked to today and what you found out about them!

 

I close a door and lose the chance

For you and me to learn to dance

Prague Doorway

I close a door and fail to see,

that you are very much like me.

Doorways-6427

I close a door, then stand behind

My prejudice and fixed stone mind

Doorways--2

I close a door and what could be gain,

is left to die in lingering pain.

Doorways-4056

I close a door and forget to embrace

a different culture, a different face.

One thought on “What is lost when doors are shut

Leave a Reply

