A Packet of Seeds

In cold darkness plant me

And let me be still,

Waiting

For the spring to come.

For it will surely come and I

Will reach through darkness

And, even though darkness surrounds me,

I will reach for light.

One day, light will reach me.

It will pour over me as spring rain

Cold, shocking, enticing.

And while much of me remains in darkness,

I will reach for light

For it is my life.

I will struggle and wish to retreat

Yet life will call me to grow

And reach and expand

I will drink in this light as one who drowns.

One day when it is warm

I will stand tall and beautiful,

More of me in light than darkness

Yet I will fondly remember that dark place.

The memories of which are warm now,

For that dark place anchors me.

Leave a Reply

